DEVONthink & DEVONthink to Go: Dynamic Duo
Tiffany White
by Tiffany White
1 min read

Categories

Tags

Evernote or DEVONthink Pro Office? This is the question I’ve been asking myself for several years now.

There was a point in time, somewhere around early 2015, where I switched to a plain text note taking system using nvAlt, DEVONthink Pro Office, and Drafts.

This worked considerably well though as I decided I needed to become more productive I decided to go back to Evernote.

I wrote about DEVONthink in 2015. Convinced it was only for academics who do heavy research, I didn’t know what to do with it. My first year at Pitt was that year so I eventually bought it.

DEVONthink to Go Gets a Makeover

One of the things that stopped me from fully utilizing DEVONthink Pro Office was that DEVONthink to Go was basically just a file viewer. As I stated in my other DEVONthink article, what I needed from DEVONthink was a mobile component. DEVONthink to Go was a good app but it didn’t suit my needs.

With DEVONthink to Go 3.0 we get a new look and a whole lot of functionality that wasn’t in the original DEVONthink to Go app.

Spotlight search, Files app integration, X-callback-URL schemes, new UI, and powerful file management features makes this the best compliment to DEVONthink Pro Office yet.

My Use Case

DEVONthink Pro Office and DEVONthink to Go are where I store web archives I know I will refer back to later 1. PDFs, receipts, emails, and other documents I will need for later and will come back to repeatedly gets stored in DEVONthink Pro Office.

I also use DEVONthink Pro Office and DEVONthink to Go to archive my blog posts, screenshots, and screen recordings from iOS.

Evernote is for the ephemeral, things like newsletters and recent web clippings I will delete eventually because I will not be referring back to them more than a couple times.

Not For Everyone

I know Evernote is the favorite but I use both of these apps in tandem. It’s taken me a while to realize each app’s strengths and play to them.

  1. By later, I mean as a reference. 

Sign up for my smart home Substack

I enjoy writing and want to do it more. Join me if you like smart home content.

Back to Top ↑