I was browsing the MobileRead forums like I do 1 and visited the Amazon Echo thread. I usually avoid this thread because I am really waiting until I finally get a developer job to make my apartment 2 more “high tech” and the Echo was on my Amazon wishlist for later, when I can afford the luxury.

But while I was browsing MobileRead on my iPad 3, I saw a photo of some of the weird syntax it uses, as well as some weird Siri nonsense and I was intrigued. I went to the thread and found that QVC was selling new Echos for $75. Along with that, you get two free months of Amazon Music and Audible 4.

Well, Things Changed Quickly

I decided I’d send the link to my mother who uses QVC and buys pretty much everything from there. We just had a conversation about her not buying from there in a year and I send her the link. She laughed but she bought it for me as a Xmas gift 5. $75 isn’t a bad price for the Echo at all and the fact that they are new is nice.

More IFTTT Recipes? Yes, Please.

I only have a couple in anticipation for the Echo…

https://ifttt.com/applets/wTpZDtXC-add-alexa-to-dos-to-omnifocus-maildrop

 

 

  1. While there are things like Slack and Gitter, old school BBS forums like MobileRead and iMore are my favorite for synchronous chat interactions. Plus I am a total book nerd. 

  2. I will be moving once I do get a dev job. Terribly far out from town. Being closer helps the commute. 

  3. I use Tapatalk Pro

  4. New accounts only. They are also third party codes so YMMV. 

  5. Instead of another winter coat, which she buys me every year, of which I have three or four that fit just fine. 

Sign up for my smart home Substack

I enjoy writing and want to do it more. Join me if you like smart home content.

Back to Top ↑